[solved] Use Yunohost as a LDAP server (connect other machines to it)

Hello community.
This thread is an english version of this thread where no body respond.

First, i have no experience with LDAP.

I have some working services on some machines and i want to use the Yunohost’s LDAP for centralize access/subscribe.

It’s possible to configure the LDAP for use it with external services (nextcloud, phpbb, etc) ? :slight_smile:
If yes, do you have some tuto/informations ? :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello, I would be curious to have the answer too, I haven’t tested so far

Hi there,

I don’t know much about LDAP, but from what I know, it’s totally doable, technically speaking. Basically all requests to LDAP servers are made to < machine >:< port >, and on Yunohost, < machine > is typically localhost. (I don’t know about the port number though but you should be able to find it in the ldap conf)

So if you wanted to have some machine accessing your LDAP base, you should tell them to contact < your.machine >:< port >. Beware to open the appropriate port in Yunohost’s firewall.

However, you should understand that you must be careful about exposing the LDAP port to the outside world. It’s okay to make machines in the same local network (which we assume you control and trust) access a central LDAP server, but it’s probably not safe to open it to the whole internet, as some data might get exposed to malicious people/bots, without password needed to access them.

Thanks for your answer :slight_smile:

By default the Yunohost LDAP server bind only on 127.0.0.1, i search how to open it on other. (edit : FALSE)
After i don’t know if the clients need can access to LDAP server or only other server (nextcloud etc). If it’s only other server i wan’t my LDAP server listen on VPN adress (10.8.0.x) :slight_smile:

ps : sorry for my bad english

Edit : ok i have open the port '(389) ine the firewall, other machine can look it via nmap.