Migration from digitalocean.com to hetzner.com

My YunoHost server

Hardware: Cloud machine on digitalocean.com
YunoHost version: 4.3.4.2
I have access to my server : Through SSH | through the webadmin
Are you in a special context or did you perform some particular tweaking on your YunoHost instance ? : no

Dear Suppporters

I’d like to migrate from digitalocean to hetzner.

Services running: Vaultwarden (upgraded from bitwarden), Nextcloud, Synapse (Matrix)

As you may have noticed, I am not a IT Professional.

Should it work to make a Backup on the old machine and to restore it on the new one?

Hi,
I think that should work if you are using the same domains.

1 Like

I use a noho.st domain from Yunohost.

Ok, I think you should test then!

1. Make backups on old VPS and download locally
  2. Shut down old VPS
  3. Install YH on new VPS (you have to release your subdomain first, see forum)
  4. Upload backups to new VPS
  5. Install apps from backups on new VPS

I think this should be it, lets test.

edit: Domain recovery here - Nohost domain recovery - Suppression de domaine en nohost.me, noho.st et ynh.fr

1 Like

“System Configuration”, “User Data” and “Mail” I’m not going to restore, right?

I “always” (well, it’s not something I do daily, but more between five and ten) restore everything.
I am not quite sure which data resides where, but:

• system configuration: your domains, users, groups, etcetera
  • user data: I guess home directories of users
  • mail: the email (with IMAP the mail is not on your computer or telephone, but stays on the server)

To be sure, shut down as in ‘power off’, not (yet) ‘cancel contract’ :stuck_out_tongue:

Out of interest: What makes you move?

1 Like

It’s much cheaper.

1 Like

Correct. I have never recover from those however…

Good comment! :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Started the process - I keep waiting for the domain to be released.

Can I leave the old server running while waiting for the domain to be released?