External LDAP authentication

Hello!
I’m running an active directory domain controller using samba, is it possible to either replace it with yunohost or to incorporate yunohost into it?
Im running an ad dc server for managing windows updates and central authentication for my little eco system.
Is external authentication possible with yunohost?
If not, could i maybe setup the Samba AD DC on the same server as yunohost and let it access the same openldap database (Basically not external authentication, but rather let the Domain controller authenticate against the yunohost ldap server and make changes - like password changes - from the domain controller)?

Best regards and thank you in advance!

Thank you for rephrasing your question between the chatroom and here, it made me think of a solution. :wink:

I am no expert, but you can try to edit /etc/ldap/ldap.conf to add an URI that your domain controller / samba can reach. It can be a public URI, but maybe it is preferable to use a private IP address (from the local network or a VPN, depending on your little ecosystem).

The line URI ldap://localhost:389 would become:

URI    ldap://localhost:389 ldaps://10.0.0.1:636

Note that I suggest to use LDAPS for a secure connection, and I assume your YunoHost server has 10.0.0.1 as an IP reachable by your controller.

Do not forget to open port 636 within YunoHost and reload LDAP:

yunohost firewall allow TCP 636
systemctl restart slapd.service

:crossed_fingers:

1 Like

First of all, thank you for your fast response!
Editing the LDAP configuration would - as you described - allow authentication to not just the internal LDAP server but also my samba server (running in ad dc mode, of course :slight_smile: )
I also had to add “TLS_REQCERT never” to the config as my certificates are currently a mess that im not yet ready to jump into :stuck_out_tongue: