🇺🇸 yunohost package update broke LDAP

:us: yunohost package update broke LDAP

I’m disabled, please be gentle about typos and the speed with which I am able to respond. I used to be a sysadmin, but it’s been a while and I’m doing my best given systemd is really rough on me.

My YunoHost server

Hardware: Bare metal i7-3770, 16 GB RAM, Lots of free space (98 GB free on /, 48 GB free on /home)
YunoHost version: 11.2.20.2 → 11.2.23
OS version: Debian GNU/Linux 11 (bullseye)
I have access to my server : through SSH or kbd, NO LDAP users work! (root user only). Portal does not work.
Are you in a special context or did you perform some particular tweaking on your YunoHost instance ? : no, not to my knowledge, just tried to apt update
If yes, please explain: n/a

Description of my issue

LDAP (slapd) seems to have been broken by an update.

I updated the “yunohost” package on my Debian 11 server from 11.2.20.2 (I believe) to 11.2.23 using apt. This was the only package listed for update, as is often the case. During this update, apt began complaining slapd was no longer reachable. It then waited unsuccessfully for quite a while for it to come back up, but it didn’t.

Troubleshooting, reboots, etc did not lead me to discover the root cause. I was unable to locate anything both similar and recent on the forums.

I did see using yunohost service regen-conf slapd --dry-run (edit: apparently this is now yunohost tools regen-conf --dry-run slapd for those needing to try this) suggested in multiple places to attempt to correct LDAP configuration issues, but this does not seem helpful, unfortunately:

╰─☙──2024-07-25─11:38:53─☙─domain.tld───━━──╮
╭─~─¤¤¤> yunohost tools regen-conf -n slapd
Warning: The LDAP service is down, attempt to restart it…
Error: Service slapd is not running but is required to perform this action ... You can try to investigate what's happening with 'systemctl status slapd'
╰─!──2024-07-25─12:26:43─☙─domain.tld───━━──╮
╭─~─¤¤¤> sudo systemctl status slapd