Yunohost only local and VPN ( .local)

My YunoHost server

Hardware: Mini-Desktop-PC (i5,6GB Ram…)
YunoHost version: current - installed this week
I have access to my server : Through SSH | through the webadmin | direct access via keyboard / screen | …
Are you in a special context or did you perform some particular tweaking on your YunoHost instance ? : no

Description of my issue

Hey!

I try to update my Setup and want that my Yunohost Server is only reachable over local network. The only port I want to forward is the wireguard port. So - I hope - it is a secure way to have an Yunohost server without anyone else can access it.
At the moment I have some problems with wireguard but I addressed it in the wireguard topic.

I have two questions - because I am a noob :slight_smile:

1. Does this setup sound like a good idea? Is it secure? Do I miss something?
  2. I tried it for one whole week and tried to read a lot in the forum (even translated some french) but somehow I am not getting mDSN to work. I cannot access yunohost.local, or test.local (added the domain). I am using a fritzbox as router. What can I do?

Thanks in advance!

Yes, yes, and apparently no. Except…

Sorry about that. mDNS does not go through WireGuard tunnels by default because they do not allow multicast. I am loosely investigating it whenever I have some time. My rough trials brought me to:

1. CLI: ip link set dev wg0 multicast on
  2. Add 224.0.0.251/32, ff02::fb/128 in the AllowedIPs of your WireGuard peers. These are the multicast addresses.
  3. Reinstall avahi (sudo apt install avahi-utils and systemctl enable --now avahi-daemon)
  4. Tweak avahi configuration (/etc/avahi/avahi-daemon.conf) to allow point-to-point and reflector, and list wg0 in the enabled interfaces.
  5. Restart yunomdns and avahi-daemon services.

I would love a guinea pig to test it, since I am unsure how tweaked is my setup. :slight_smile: