Yunohost for a full storage/backup/cloud server

Hey everyone,

I an trying to make my own cloud server, for work and personal use. I am not very experienced in this. I have used a Synology NAS for 3 years. Now I want to built my own.
First I have installed FreeNAS, but it’s a bit heavy for me for a daily use. So I was very happy when I discovered Yunohost :slight_smile:
It seems to be a great tool for my need, but I would like to check with you if what I plan to do is the best way to do it. Where I have a lot of question is, how do you manage your storage with Yunohost ? From what I understand, that is not something you do with Yunohost, so you need an extra layer of software to do it before Yunohost.

What I need :

• Run apps, with Yunohost (Nextcloud, music manager, photo manager)
  • Large storage capacity with redundancy
  • Full online backup on Crashplan

What I have :

• i3 6100 PC with 16GB or ram
  • SSD 32GB for system
  • Hard drives

What I plan to do :

• Install Debian 9 on the SSD, with the graphical interface, for now
  • Mount my internal drives on Debian (some drives are HFSplus, it should works apparently)
  • Make a raid volume with Debian
  • Make AFP or SMB share on Debian for my local network
  • Install Crashplan on Debian to online backup everything
  • Install Yunohost on Debian
  • Use my drives and raid volume with my Yunohost apps

My questions :

• Does it make sense ?
  • I have a 32GB SSD, a slow one like 35 MB/s read/write speed, it is OK with Debian ?
  • Can I manage the graphical interface of Debian from local/external network, like in VNC mode ? (sorry if it is bad formulated)
  • Can I plug a USB HFSplus drive on my Debian machine, and it will read/write on it ? Apparently yes but it seems to good to be true

I know all that is a bit beyond Yunohost, but any help is welcome !
Thanks a lot !

Est-ce que devrais poser ces questions en français pour avoir plus de chance d’être lu et répondu ?

No, english is better