Yunohost - Docker/Containerized App Packaging?

I am curious if the Yunohost team has considered making Docker apps be more easily integrated into the app store.

Currently, to run a docker app you have to:

• get the docker-compose.yml
  • setup all ports and env variables etc.
  • create a domain
  • get HTTPS cert
  • run the Redirect App to connect your app.

I recently ran across Runtipi.io. To deploy their apps, you click install. Then another click and you can ‘expose it’ to hook up to a domain name. Traefik handles doing the domain name. It’s a very fast process.

Also, it looks like it very easy for them to add more apps to their whole ecosystem. I read through how to add an app to their app store and it doesn’t look impossible. I think I will give it a shot, and I am not a programmer.

I browsed the docs for Yunohost packaging guide and it looks a bit more involved.

It might be neat if Yunohost had a hybrid model. Some apps work better installed into the OS, such as Wireguard, Pihole but a lot of apps are just web apps that would probably be much easier to deal with if they were containerized.

Benefits:

• less people messing up Debian with a bad install
  • apps easier to package → more apps could be packaged, easier for people to package apps.
  • Debian can be upgraded faster to newer versions, less stuff should break
  • apps could autoupdate with something like watchtower?

Downsides:

• two types of packaging standards
  • how to integrate docker packages into Yunohost
  • might require huge changes to base Yunohost, impossible?

Note, I am coming into this conversation with the best of intentions. I have contributed money to Yunohost. I love Yunohost and have learned so much about self-hosting by using it. Please don’t take this discussion to mean that Yunohost sucks or is bad in any way.

Anyways, I’m curious what are thoughts from people who are part of the core team? or people who have packaged apps for Yunohost before?

2 Likes