Willing to pay for help setting up a new domain name

So, I’ve tried solving these problems on my own, and it’s just over my head. My situation is as follows:

-Hosting at home (eeePC)
-nohost.me domain
-Dynamic IP
-ISP blocks incoming port 80

What I want to do:

-obtain a letsencrypt cert

--in order to run certain apps that don't like self-signed certs
 --less friction for family and friends when sharing nextcloud links

What I’ve done/tried:

-Tried setting up ‘algo’ VPN on a free amazon ec2 instance, thinking I could use it to proxy? my site. I worked on it for two days, and couldn’t get it working.

-Bought a new domain name from ionos
-Made an account on duckdns
-Spent a day or two trying to map new domain to my Yunohost server… couldn’t get it working.

I am feeling pretty frustrated by the whole situation, and honestly pretty down on myself at this point. I’ve been running Yunohost for 2 or 3 years now, and really enjoying it. I’m looking to do a couple new things now, and can’t figure it out… even though I feel like it shouldn’t be so hard :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m not a guy with a lot of money, and I really would rather be able to do this myself, but I just can’t get my mind around the solutions, and also I don’t want to break my server that I depend on! If you can help me, or recommend someone who can, let me know!

I am in the US (Pacific timezone).

Thanks!

Hi there,

what happened with the domain from “ionos” ? (never heard of it). Weren’t you able to complete the DNS challegen of Lets Encrypt (are you aware of what it is ?)

Also if you don’t care so much about the domain name, netlib.re provides free domains as well with full control of DNS records.

How were you doing in the last 2 or 3 years ? Did you just use the selfsigned certificate, or maybe the “port 80 being blocked” is a recent thing ?

1 Like

Hi Aleks,