Stupid doubt: Raspberry Pi with YunoHost for 2 different purposes with different DNS?

I am very new to all of these and I’d like to know that everything I’m doing is alright.

Context: I have a Raspberry Pi 3b+ for personal stuff that I bought a few weeks ago. One of the things I want is my own personal server with Nextcloud, email, etc. But there’s also this: I’m starting a business with two friends so we want to use my Raspi as a server if possible.

One of my friends bought a DNS with Square Space and we want to use it (we can call it domain1.com). As far as I read here, I need a static IP for my Raspi to be associated with the DNS, but I only want to use this DNS with one WordPress website (so domain1.com loads this WordPress) to be built on the Raspi and leave the free domain that YunoHost provides (domain2.nohost.me)for personal purposes.

Is it even possible? if so, anything I should know before I start with all of this?

PS: thank you so much for helping me with my problems :sweat_smile:

It’s possible, you should point domain1.com to your yunohost using a CNAME to domain2.nohost.me (since yunohost updates nohost.me IP every 5 minutes this always point to the right IP)

1. Add domain2.nohost.me to Yunohost (if it’s not already done)
  2. Add domain1.com to Yunohost
  3. Go into Domains > domain1.com > DNS configuration and look at recommended DNS configuration
  4. Install the DNS configuration into DNS zone of domain1.com (using provider’s panel) replacing all A records pointing to your IP by CNAME records pointing to domain2.nohost.me

What’s a CNAME ? It’s a record which will, everytime somebody connects on your domain will say to the browser “This website have the same IP as domain2.nohost.me” and the browser will fetch the IP from domain2. So the IP is always up to date.