Starting System Administration With Yunohost

I am a Veteran video games artist that is techy enough to not be afraid to try to be really techy. I have tried installing Mastodon 2 times in the past, and realized I may need a more “Training Wheels” approach.

Enter Yunohost.

By the way I have some basic experience with Ubuntu based GNU/Linux and currently operate Trisquel distro at home as my main computer. I am not completely green, but System Admin/ Hosting stuff is not really comfortable for me yet. I am eager to learn though.

All I have is a laptop that I always keep on that I don’t mind making my server. For now, nevermind things like “security” etc, I will learn that. All I want for now is to be able to use a service like Yunohost to run a Mastodon instance.

What do I need? Where do I start?

I plan on also buying a separate internet connection just for running this instance.

1 Like

Welcome to Yunohost,

Yunohost is relatively easy to use and is a good way to learn and to progress in system administration.

First thing is to have a server or at least a computer (raspberry pi or Brique Internet are ok but will be too slow). For services like mastodon, it’s really better to have it running in permanence.

If, for instance, your goal is to install mastodon, you just have to install Yunohost on your computer and install it through the admin interface with the URL : https://github.com/Yunohost-Apps/mastodon_ynh (stable but still a community package).

A package is a set of scripts which allows you to install an application. There are 2 sorts of packages : those which are officially maintained and validated (by the Apps Group) and those which are maintained by the community. See https://yunohost.org/#/apps to search for an application.

If you are just discovering Yunohost, I suggest you to go through the website and see a bit the documentation : https://yunohost.org/#/docs_en