[solved] Messed up my UPS installation and can't figure out how to un-mess it up

[solution]: I typed $ sudo upsdrvctl start and then everything worked as expected. Despite /etc/nut/ups.conf describing the UPS exactly per the comment text in the .conf file, upsdrvctl wouldn’t let me start the UPS by name; I had to use the general start command (IE instructing it to start all UPSs). I’m not sure why this was the case.

My YunoHost server

Hardware: Old computer, Amazon Basics Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS).
YunoHost version: 11.2.6
I have access to my server : Using SSH but can use direct access via keyboard if required
special context? : no

Context:

• I’m a noob
  • I’m trying to do everything via the Yunohost web interface, and keep things as vanilla as possible, but I’ve accepted that setting up a UPS will require using the command prompt.
  • I purchased a cheap UPS and am having trouble getting it to work with my Yunohost PC.
  • I’ve been trying to follow the information in these guides:

Questions:

• Does typing $ sudo upsc sparky elicit the response Error: Driver not connected because the driver couldn’t be started using $ sudo upsdrvctl start sparky?
  • About half-way through doing all this, using the command $ upscmd -l sparky worked correctly… could the fact that it now doesn’t work be because I tried to restrict permissions by typing $ sudo chown root:nut /etc/nut/* and then $ sudo chmod 640 /etc/nut/*?
    • if so, is there a way to remove this restriction?
  • Are there any other not-too-scary guides I could try reading?
  • I thought about using apcupsd because @ejmroberge described good results with it. Unfortunately the Debian wiki says it needs sys-v to function, and understanding fully the implications of switching from sysv to systemd is beyond my ability (and nor would I really know how to switch back if I later needed to)! Is there an alternative to nut that I should consider that is likely to ‘just work’?

What I’ve done so far: