Serving static content with Yunohost, and potential security issues

Hi!

I’m trying to configure nginx so that, when connecting to https://aaabbb.nohost.me/sharedfolder, the user sees a classic “Index of” page with the files contained in /var/www/html/sharedfolder.

Unfortunately, I’m completely new to nginx, and more generally to server administration. I’m trying to follow the nginx docs, but clearly I’m doing something wrong and I cant’ understand what.

I tried creating a sharedfolder.conf file within /etc/nginx/conf.d/default.d with this content:

location /sharedfolder/ {
try_files $uri $uri/ =404;
alias /var/www/html/sharedfolder/;
}

This file should be included in the server directive of /etc/nginx/conf.d/yunohost_admin.conf, which itself is included in the http directive of /etc/nginx/nginx.conf.

To avoid permission troubles, I set permissions for the shared folder to 777.

The problem is that, when I try connecting to https://aaabbb.nohost.me/sharedfolder, I still get sent back to the Yunohost authentication panel.

Apart from making this work, I also have another, more important question. Are there security issues in setting up public folders like this? I realize of course that the content of the folder would be public, since that’s my goal, but I’m wondering if this exposes the server to other vulnerabilities.

Thank you very much for any input on the matter!

Let me not directly answer your question. We have an app for that, My Webapp, check it out.

PSA: never do that.

The app I mentioned above will allow you to give seamless access to visitors via the permissions panel.

1 Like

Thank you very much for the quick reply!

I’m assuming that My Webapp (which I can’t find in the application list) is the same as Custom Webapp. I just tried it and it does exactly what I need.

Thank you for the PSA about permissions, as well. I guess I’m exactly the kind of user for which “auto-configurating” applications are important :D.