Reason for using a separate admin account instead of root

The YunoHost documentation says “YunoHost has this additional ‘admin’ user for several technical reasons.” ^1

Could anyone elaborate what specifically are the “technical reasons“ behind such design? I have limited experience with Linux sysadmin and webadmin, and one potential factor I can think of is security concerns (but how using a differently named privileged account is securer than using root I’m not sure).

Is there any additional reason? Any input will be appreciated!

1 Like

Hmpf yeah it’s somewhat debatable. I can think of three~four reasons :

• Historically there was a need for user inside the LDAP database to act as the “super user”. But root was only used as the “super user” of the “regular Linux” user database, so a different name was needed, hence admin
  • Some people tend to be super-paranoid about being logged as “root” and this is indeed a bad practice for some reason … which also depend on the context : for example, if you’re in a team of people at work and regularly doing sysadmin work on the same machine, it’s difficult to track who made what change.
  • Related to previous fact, bots on the internet tend to brute-force SSH access for root a 90% of the time, because it’s somewhat “common” that people having no clue about security will leave a stupidly easy password on root despite the fact that the server is exposed … So at least, using a less-common username prevents bots from easily bruteforcing their way in in the eventuality that you’re using a stupidly simple password (though Yunohost also now ships other countermeasure to prevent you from defining such a password)
  • root is a kinda obscure and ambiguous name ? (Sometime you want to refer to "the root of the filesystem, ie /, which is a different thing). admin is somewhat more noob-friendly to understand
2 Likes

With that said, the plan is actually to drop that admin user. It’s too confusing for many reason.