Maybe a simple solution for external authentication in YunoHost?

Hi,

I am a professional fire officer, and I am currently managing a Debian server in my fire brigade (Genova, Italy), hosting a couple of applications docker images.

I would like to simplify the management of this server, to allow other colleagues to help me out. I have been studying YunoHost for some time. It seems indeed a great solution: an easy UI for daily maintenance, and the flexibility of a real Linux distro.

But as we have ~600 users (firefighters…), I would like to keep using the same simple custom authentication mechanism we currently have: thanks to a python script, username and password are checked by quering our SMTP server. This is a kind of poor-man SSO.

Reading the docs and the discussions, I learned that YunoHost has a local LDAP server, and currently cannot offer external authentication.

So I would like to try to adapt YH authentication code as follows:

• The user enters username and password in the YunoHost login panel.
  • YH calls an external custom script to check if the provided username and password are ok (In my case, this would be a simple query of our SMTP server).
    • if username and password are ok: YH calls the local LDAP and check if the user exists:
      • if the user exists in LDAP: YH updates the user password in the LDAP, and allows the authentication.
      • if the user does not exist in LDAP: YH adds the new user to the LDAP (username, email, and password, the rest is set to default), and allows the authentication.
    • if username and password are not ok: YH calls the local LDAP and checks if the user exists:
      • if the user exists in LDAP: YH disables the user in LDAP (eg. by scrambling the password), and rejects the authentication.
      • if the user does not exist in LDAP: YH does nothing, and rejects the authentication.