I have some doubts about self-hosting for my business

This is not a post about me having some current troubles, it’s about getting to know if Younohost could be a good tool for me. I’m new to this, I bought a Raspberry Pi 3b+ as a personal home server but I had no time to begin to use it yet.

I want to create a debate academia for my community as a business model and people would have to create an account (we would have to give them permissions for that). I thought of using Yunohost for this task (since I can use it with Nextcloud, Moodle, a business email account for us, and a website). Although I have lots of questions, some of them are:

1. I’d like to know if I could easily migrate all the data and config from one server to another in case I want to upgrade it in the future.
  2. What is the minimum hardware required that could work properly (From a Raspberry Pi to a very good brand new server with eg. 8Gb of RAM and Intel i7)
  3. Should I have to keep in mind anything regarding GDPR policies? (I live in Spain); for example: I imagine that YunoHost by default doesn’t allow the host to see any data from the guests, right? so everything would be truly private and safe.
  4. Any tip/recommendations?

Yes, you can “migrate to another machine” by backing up all the system/apps (or just those who matters) and restore this backup on another server.

It really depends on which apps you want to run, the load (how many users / visitors at the same time), and what margin you want for “future stuff you may want to install”. Naively from what you mention, I guess 2GB or 4GB RAM would be okay, why not on a RPi.