[Help] MySQL / MariaDB service doesn't start up

The “support” category is meant to ask for help or troubleshooting related to installing or using YunoHost or its applications. It is not to ask assistance on general system administration, network administration or special use cases that goes beyond the scope of the project. If you wish to discuss more advanced use case, please post in the “Advanced Use Case” category.

Before posting, please :

My YunoHost server

Hardware: VPS bought online
YunoHost version: 11.0.7 (testing)
I have access to my server : Through SSH & through the webadmin

Description of my issue

I can’t start the mysql service. Here are my logs. It happened when I tried to change the root password of the mysql root user to something custom to explore a bit. I didn’t anticipate that it could break something, though I think this is an error on my part.
Any help appreciated as I am very new to server management.

I think you try to run mysql service in the same time an other mysql cli is running.

With ps aux | grep mysql you can identify the process that run mysql and kill it.

Restart your server should fix this too.

Note: if you have change the root password, you yunohost could be unable to install/backup/restore/upgrade/delete apps using mysql.

Alright, I am restarting my server right now.
Indeed, I can’t do anything you mentioned in my panel anymore, what should I reset my password to?

Mysql seems to be booted up now, though (as you already mentioned) I still have the issue of connection not working.

Ok, but can you confirm that the mysql service is running ?

For the password, i don’t remember well the process to change that. Do you remember which things you have changed ?

It seems to run, there’s nothing strange in the logs as well, seems normal. Except for these lines in the log:

Jul 07 19:56:29 mariadbd[796]: 2022-07-07 19:56:29 5 [Warning] Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)