Gender-inclusive german?

Hello,
I am a former translator for freedombox (I translated into german language).
I was decried for using gender-inclusive language.
How is it here at Yunohost? Am I welcome to translate

• simply using “german”?
  • or should be initiated a “new language”: “german gender-inclusive / deutsch
    gendergerecht” so people can choose and the outmoded stay relaxed? And how to do that?

Best wishes
c lul :sloth:

1 Like

Hello ! Well, you are welcome to translate.

About inclusive Gender, for instance, as far as I know, Yunohost didn’t take any decision even for french. Many members of Yunohost team are against inclusive gender language (I’m against, so I’m partial), other are for.

Creating a new language is a bit strange as german is not still fully translated… Moreover, language of Yunohost is language of the system (not sure what it will choose if it finds 2 languages for german).

In fact gender-inclusive language is (or became) a bit political and ideological in France (from my point of view), but I don’t know what is gender-inclusiveness in german (if it is something common… or not). Will you or another person maintain this ?

2 Likes

Hello!
I am not sure, this is a common language in Germany and must also be an ideological issue…
I could help translating things into german if someone needs it.

Help is welcome. Documentation is still not translated into German (a big part). It may be useful for new users.

How doing it?

Documentation of Yunohost works like a wiki : you can either translate it frome the website https://yunohost.org/#/docs_de, either doing it on Github : https://github.com/YunoHost/doc