Does it make sense to install ZFS on my system

I dedicated a AMD Ryzen 5 4600G with 32 GB of RAM as my YuNoHost home server.

I currently have vanilla YuNoHost installed on the (which also means stock Ext4 partitioning):

• 1 × 1TB M.2 NVME SSD (Samsung Evo Plus 970)

In addition – once I’m done with migrating from my old ARM servers – I will have the following drives also available for use:

• 2 × 1TB 2.5" HDD (WD Red)
  • 1 × 500MB SATA SSD (Crucial MX500)

As such, I am wondering if it makes sense for me to connect all of these disks and set it up as ZFS.

What would be the up- and down-sides of that?

And how would one go about migrating from ext4 to ZFS …or should I rather set up ZFS on all the other drives, copy everything over and then add the NVME to ZFS?

(or completely forget this idea, because it’s likely to blow into my face eventually and I won’t know how to fix the mess)

Relevant: I have some but not a lot of experience with Btrfs and no experience with ZFS. I also have a long history with Linux and have self-hosted for several years now, but am also not a professional

Hey @hook, I merged to ZFS due to mitigate HD failures* shutting down the server.
Im not an expert, so cant really go in to details. …but I think you should go to practicalzfs and ask for best way to migrate or other detailed questions on ZFS.

edit: using two disks for both YH OS and Storage volume as @cocoyuno points out below.

It’s hard to answer this question without the full picture… ZFS has plenty of powerful features but it needs careful planning as the way disks and filesystems are managed are really different. And once you have chosen a way to to set vdevs and zpools, it’s not easy to change.
A couple of more comments:

• if you are in single-disk mode, ZFS will not really protect you against hardware failure
  • there is an old debate about whether you need to have RAM with ECC (error checking) when using ZFS, but basically RAM errors can have very bad consequences