Create a temporary staging domain for a wordpress installation

This is my first time posting and I am new to YunoHost. Thank you in advance for any time helping me!

I am creating a new version of a live wordpress website that I will be hosting on my YunoHost server. Let’s call it example.com.

I created a site on YunoHost and installed wordpress (wordpress__10) that points to my domain.

On my local computer, I changed by local hosts file and can access, build, edit the website as desired.

I am trying to create a staging site so that I can have non local people look at it but can’t figure out how.

I can’t point the DNS for the actual domain to my YunoHost installation yet because it is a live site and it needs to get approval first.

What I have tried:

I created a new domain (staging.example.com), installed redirect on it, and copied the nginx conf file from example.com into staging.example.com that looks like this:

location / {

# Path to source
       alias /var/www/wordpress__10/;

index index.php;
       if (!-e $request_filename)
       {
              rewrite ^(.+)$ /index.php?q=$1 last;
       }

client_max_body_size 50m;
       location ~ [^/]\.php(/|$) {
           fastcgi_split_path_info ^(.+?\.php)(/.*)$;
           fastcgi_pass unix:/var/run/php/php8.2-fpm-wordpress__10.sock;

fastcgi_index index.php;
           include fastcgi_params;
           fastcgi_param REMOTE_USER $remote_user;
           fastcgi_param PATH_INFO $fastcgi_path_info;
           fastcgi_param SCRIPT_FILENAME $request_filename;
       }

# Include SSOWAT user panel.
  include conf.d/yunohost_panel.conf.inc;
}

When I go to it, it redirects me to the live version of example.com instead of the yunohost version.

I would like to set it up so that I can have the website available publicly through some sort of a redirect that I can remove when I am ready to go live with the new site and switch the actual dns record from the current site to the new site.