CiviCRM installation experience

This is not a request for help. It’s just a run-through of my experience installing and running CiviCRM for the first time, as a complete novice to this app.

1. What username to use to log in?

The first issue for me, right after installation, was that I didn’t know the username to use when trying to log into CiviCRM. I recalled that a password was requested, and I had it at hand, but I didn’t know the username. So I tried “admin”, “root” and a few others, and none worked.

To solve this, I actually logged into mysql and drilled down to find that the username was my usual one from Yunohost administration, but the password had to be this new one, which was a bit confusing. But it worked, so it got solved pretty fast.

2. Where in the world is CiviCRM?!

After finally logging in, I am presented with a sort of user details page. I now try to find the CiviCRM administration, and I am stumped. I spend fifteen+ minutes clicking through every link above, like “Structure”, “Appearance”, “People”, “Modules”, etc., but find only things related to Drupal, it seems, with only vague references to CiviCRM (e.g. the theme module for it, which I activated). I looked at other installation and use guides out there, and I had none of the menu structure they referenced. I was starting to think there was a bug in the installation when I decided to click the very last link I still hadn’t clicked on: the little house icon on the top left. Hallelujah! This produced a drab page, but containing a tiny link to CiviCRM.

Now I’m going through the configuration. If there’s any other gotcha that I think might be useful for others, I’ll post it as a reply.

2 Likes

3. Giving permissions for events