A20-OLinuXino-LIME2 ore the NanoPi M4V2

Hello I would like to install YunoHost. Its my first Project like this.
What is the better choice for a bord.The A20-OLinuXino-LIME2 ore the NanoPi M4V2

Hi there,

I think both should be supported (as long as thereā€™s an available stretch image for armbian)

However, the community is much more familar with the Lime2 as itā€™s also the default hardware for the Internet Cube so that board should be safer choice.

On the other hand, the NanoPi seems to be a much more powerful board with 4GB RAM and maybe more powerful CPU (but Iā€™m not knowledgeable enough about ARM boards)

ĀÆ\_(惄)_/ĀÆ

Hello,

Looking at the NanoPi M4V2 specs, itā€™s clear that it blows the LIME2 out of the water in every respect! Looking at the processor:

SoC: Rockchip RK3399
CPU: Dual-Core Cortex-A72(up to 2.0GHz) + Quad-Core Cortex-A53(up to 1.5GHz)

The LIME2 has an Allwinner A20 dual core Cortex-A7 processor running at 1GHz, and only 1GB of RAM compared to NanoPiā€™s 4GB. Itā€™s a 10-year old chip. Its appeal is that Olimex has pledged to supply it ā€œforeverā€ (Olimex mostly supplies board for industrial applications). Meanwhile all the different Pi variants come and go.

But the NanoPi seems to be a very recent single-board computer, maybe introduced earlier this year. The Armbian project only lists Bionic and Buster images, no Stretch image which Yunohost absolutely requires to run at this time. I know, I first tried to install Yunohost on Armbian Bionic, then only learned afterwards when it wouldnā€™t work that it wasnā€™t supported yet. :stuck_out_tongue:

https://dl.armbian.com/nanopim4v2/archive/

Also, Iā€™m not sure, but the NanoPi seems to be an ARM64 processor, which means that even if you manage to install Debian Stretch on it somehow, you may have trouble getting Yunohost installed on it, as ARM64 isnā€™t officially supported yet. See Build Yunohost for aarch64 / arm64 Ā· Issue #438 Ā· YunoHost/issues Ā· GitHub