? YunoHost based on DeVUan?

Hello,
I’m a newbie who wish to begin with self-hosting.
I just discovered YunoHost and it looks amazing.
Before I jump into it, I read that YH is based on Debian.

Do you plan to release a YH version also compatible with Devuan?
Or is it already?

Thank you for your consideration,

• Ann

I am not sure at all to understand.
The difference between Debian and Devuan is quite technical, no noob (as you said) should consider this something important.
At least I don’t :sweat_smile:

Can you elaborate why you prefer init instead of systemd ?
(This is for me to understand, I have no idea about the inside of YunoHost to be able to answear your question)

Thank you for your comment.
I’ll not debate largely on init preference (the topic has already flowded the web) but simply describe my situation.

I’m working with EmmabuntuDE (Debian edition: https://emmabuntus.org/) since 7 years now as daily desktop. It is an excellent distro for Linux beginner & old computers.

But years passes by, the computer slows more and more with its only 4Gb of RAM.

It seems that system without systemd (like Devuan) offers better performance and easiest admin (KISS & stable).
After those last 2 updates, my system struggles and I’ve to reboot it several times a day.

I also considered to switch to BSD’s… because I can’t simply understand how is it possible that Linux & GitHub were bought by MS?! What about the future of Linux? Will it still match its original purpose?

Unfortunatelly, I don’t have enough computing skills to self-host with a BSD OS base… and YunoHost is not proposed with a BSD base… yet :slight_smile:

Note that I don’t wish to create any controversy. I respect everyone thoughts, beleives, needs & choices. I’m just looking for a tailored solution :slight_smile: