Unable to access terminal on Headless Debian Server - YunoHost restore backup?

Hello, I’m new to Yunohost and very much a beginner. My primary usage is for Nextcloud but I enjoy trying additional apps through the Yunohost App installer.

First of all thanks very much to everyone involved in the project because without you there is no chance I’d have the technical skills to have my own server:)

My YunoHost server

Hardware
Old computer

YunoHost
version:3.6.5.3

I have access to my server
through the webadmin

Did you perform some particular tweaking on your YunoHost instance ?
yes!

Debian%20error|690x335

I updated via the terminal on my headless server and now Apache server will not start but it continues to run. I no longer have access to the terminal directly on the debian server

Description of my issue

I was attempting to update some packages directly on my headless server and when it rebooted I was no longer able to access the terminal. I received an error saying Apache Server failed to launch, an now I no longer have “bash/terminal” I can’t enter commands at all.

My server is working and accessible from the web admin but I no longer have direct access on the PC. Can I simply restore a previous backup via YunoHost admin to revert my Debian install to before this mistake?

Thanks for any advice at all:)

Hello,

Can you try Ctrl + Alt + F1 and F2, F3 etc ?
This combination allows you to access different terminal.
Respectively F1 = Terminal 1, F2 = Terminal 2… etc.

Yes!! That worked, Ctrl + Alt + F2 got me to the Yunohost terminal and login:)

I’m now able to access it but based on some other feedback I got, via the Matrix/IRC room, I may have some system errors. I assume every time I restart my machine I will need to use the key combination to get around it.

Is there a way to fix these system errors on Debian? My first intention, that started all this, was to install a GUI like Gnome to more easily navigate to my backups and nextcloud files.