Nextcloud sync failing, "Connection Closed/Operation Canceled"

I am fairly new to Yunohost, first server is about 3 months old. Yunohost is installed to a 512MB KVM VPS server with rainloop, borg and the main purpose, Nextcloud app. There’s no one using the mail, I just set it up for future use if they wanted it.

The other day, one of the users contacted me to say that syncing to her windows 10 desktop is no longer working. I added her account to my Nextcloud desktop client and began a sync and am able to reproduce her problem. In the desktop client, on specific files, I’m getting “Connection closed” and/or “Operation canceled” and then syncing stops (so I haven’t been able to sync everything else besides these). When I browse to the problem files in Chrome, the loading progress bar seems to load about 5% and then red banner comes up “Unexpected server response”. The “more information” says (edited by me):

PDF.js v1.9.426 (build: 2558a58d)
Message: Unexpected server response (0) while retrieving PDF “https://domain.ca/nextcloud/remote.php/webdav/edited_path/filename.pdf”.

The /var/log/nginx/domain-error.log outputs:

2019/02/25 04:05:23 [crit] 27965#27965: *1 open() “/var/lib/nginx/fastcgi/5/01/0000000015” failed (13: Permission denied) while reading upstream, client: 70.68.yy.xx, server: domain.ca, request: “GET /nextcloud/remote.php/webdav/edited_path/filename.pdf HTTP/2.0”, upstream: “fastcgi://unix:/var/run/php/php7.0-fpm-nextcloud.sock:”, host: “domain.ca”

It seems if I open a few other files in the browser (from the same directory, just other pdf files), then I can open the file that was giving the error in the browser. I just scrolled a few pages in the pdf, and it took more than a few seconds to load the page and had the spinning circle mouse icon while it was loading. Also, if I right click on it and “Save link as”, it seems to download the pdf ok.