[Mailman] Mail discussion and e-newsletter lists

Hi,

I packaged Mailman (2.x) for Yunohost, if someone wants to test and give me feedbacks you are very much welcome. Note that the state is clearly in progress, as so far I tested it only a virtual machine by simulating MX record. It seems to be working, but I haven’t tested it in a prod environment.

Sources : GitHub - YunoHost-Apps/mailman_ynh: Mailman packaging for YunoHost

Disclaimer - I am not a mail expert, and especially not a postfix expert. Feel free to review what I’ve done and propose a cleaner configuration if you know what you’re doing :smile: .

Description

Official website

Mailman is a free software for managing electronic mail discussion and e-newsletter lists. Mailman propose a web interface where admins can create, configure and moderate lists, and users can register to lists and check archives (example).

What the package does

It installs mailman and configure nginx and postfix. After the installation, you should be able to access the web interface through http://yourDomain.tld/mailman/ (or the path you chose during install). Mailman lists are created with the format listname@lists.yourDomain.tld (you can also change the lists prefix during install).

NB : You will need to configure a DNS (MX?) record for lists.yourDomain.tld

Installation

sudo yunohost app install https://github.com/alexAubin/mailman_ynh

Then you will need configure a DNS (MX?) record for lists.yourDomain.tld

1 Like

[Version française dessous]
Hi every one,

Thanks @CaptainSqrt2 for this package: installing was really easy!

I faced the first problem after having created the first mailing-list: all went good, I received an email which confirms the setting of this list. But the adress it gave brings me back to the YunoHost (SSO) portal…
I didn’t make the DNS configuration, because the url is “http://mydomain.tld/cgi-bin/mailman/admin/list-name” (and so not in a list.mydomain.tld sub-domain.