Basic quesion: putting my HTML page online

Hello everyone. I’m completely new to servers and Yunohost. Is it possible to put an HTML page online without installing Wordpress or anything similar? Maybe by putting it in a specific directory?

Hi
Welcome to Yunohost.

Yes you can by installing my_webapp package.

Install it by admin web-interface or by this command:

$ yunohost app install https://github.com/YunoHost-Apps/my_webapp_ynh

Chose the domain, path , mysql database (if you need the mysql database) and the sftp password so that you can put the html files by sftp.

After install, sftp to the director and remove the index.html and put your files there.

2 Likes

Thanks, almost there. When trying to put my page on the server sftp tells me remote open("/var/www/my_webapp/www/homepage.html"): Permission denied. Should I run sftp from my local machine with sudo or how do I get around this?

Hi @Poyu ,

You can use Filezilla with your domain.name/site (sftp), user : webapp1, password : the one you’ve chosen

ppr

Thanks ppr. I’ve been trying to connect for a while now but no luck. Connecting to the server with my ordinary user works fine but with webapp1 I’m told “Error: Authentication failed.”. I’ve tried both with FileZilla and the sftp program itself. Pretty sure I have the right password. I even reinstalled my_webapp with a new password to make sure it wasn’t that. And changed it again with the passwd command which double-checks the spelling.

The error messages are these two:

|Error:|Authentication failed.|
|---|---|
|Error:|Critical error: Could not connect to server|

so I’m guessing it’s a kind of “wrong-password” message, right?

Have you changed the ssh port or disabled password for ssh? What do you mean by connecting with my ordinary user works? Only the admin user have the access to the ssh by default. It would be nice if you can show the filezilla screenshot.